Château Palmer 2018 - 3rd Cru Class

Unquestionably a STAR of the 2018 vintage, and organic!

In the heart of Margaux, 66 hectares of gravel and grass setting the Gironde. Between this soil rich of its secular history and its skies with its hourly microclimate. One terroir, three grape varieties: the horizon of Château Palmer.

It comprises three pillars: carbernet sauvignon and merlot in equal parts, complemented by a touch of petit verdot. An exception. And one rule: the grape variety doesn't determine the quality of the wine, it influences it by its own characteristics.

The incessant rains favour the development of mildew. During the dry and hot summer, the vine concentrates its energy on the remaining bunches. Their power and concentration prove to be exceptional. In the winery, an unprecedented decision was made: all the batches go into the Château Palmer blend... Extraordinary

Château Palmer, source.

€360.00
Size
Quantity
not_interested Out-of-Stock

My best mark given to this vintage in primeur. Black color. Nose with a heavenly character! Fine, fresh and yet very ripe and even creamy. Notes reminiscent of the right bank. When agitated, it takes on a more wonderful character, with notes of cream, raspberry and ink. It resembles an essence of perfume. Ultra meticulous in the attack, very melting in the development, very well built, very mastered too, the wine becomes brilliant and expressive between the middle and the finish. It finishes subtle, fragrant and at this age different from all other Palmer vintages and almost irrational. Could see its note rise at the end of the aging process. Yield: 11 hl/ha (vineyard very affected by mildew). 

              Jean-Marc Quarin   Quarin.com

Data sheet

Designation
Margaux
Color
Red
Acceptance
53 % cabernet sauvignon, 40 % merlot, 7 % petit verdot
Alcohol level
14°3
Apogee
2030 - 2050

Jean-Marc Quarin  -  Noté 98/100

James Suckling  -  Noté 98/100              

Neal Martin  - Noté 100/100

Jancis Robinson  -  Noté 97/100

Wine Advocate / Lisa Perrotti  -  Noté 98/100

Antonio Galloni  -  Noté 100/100 

Newsletter
Don’t show this popup again

Château Palmer 2018 - 3ème Cru Classé

Incontestablement une STAR du millésime 2018, et bio !

Au cœur de Margaux, 66 hectares de graves et d’enherbement fixant la Gironde. Entre ce sol riche de ses histoires séculaires et ses cieux au microclimat horaire. Un terroir, trois cépages : l’horizon de Château Palmer.

Elle comprend trois piliers : le carbernet sauvignon et le merlot à part égale, complétés par une touche de petit verdot. Une exception. Et une règle : le cépage ne détermine pas la qualité du vin, il l'influence par ses caractéristiques propres.

Les pluies incessantes favorisent le développement du mildiou. Durant l’été sec et chaud, la vigne concentre son énergie sur les grappes restantes. Leur puissance et leur concentration s'avèrent exceptionnelles. Au chai, une décision inédite en découle : tous les lots entrent dans l’assemblage de Château Palmer… Extra-ordinaire.

Château Palmer, source.

360,00 €
Format
Quantité
not_interested Rupture de stock

Ma meilleure note donnée à ce cru en primeur. Couleur noire. Nez au caractère céleste ! Fin, frais et pourtant très mûr et même crémeux. Notes évoquant la rive droite. A l'agitation, il prend un caractère plus merveilleux, avec des notes de crème, de framboise et d'encre. Il ressemble à une essence de parfum. Ultra minutieux à l'attaque, très fondant au développement, très bien construit, très maitrisé aussi, le vin devient brillant et expressif entre le milieu et la finale. Il s'achève subtil, parfumé et à cet âge différent de tous les autres millésimes de Palmer et presque irrationnel. Pourrait voir sa note monter en fin d'élevage. Rendement : 11 hl/ha (vignoble très touché par le mildiou). 

               Jean-Marc Quarin   Quarin.com

Fiche technique

Appellation
Margaux
Couleur
Rouge
Encépagement
53 % cabernet sauvignon, 40 % merlot, 7 % petit verdot
Degré Alcoolique
14°3
Apogée
2030 - 2050

Jean-Marc Quarin  -  Noté 98/100

James Suckling  -  Noté 98/100              

Neal Martin  - Noté 100/100

Jancis Robinson  -  Noté 97/100

Wine Advocate / Lisa Perrotti  -  Noté 98/100

Antonio Galloni  -  Noté 100/100 

Newsletter
Ne plus afficher cette pop up